Daily Prompt: Something So Strong

[Prompt]

It’d been years, really, since we’d first met.

Years since our paths had crossed, and our journeys muddling together until I couldn’t really tell whose journey we were on most of the time. It’d been years since we’d had those awkward, stuttering conversations that lasted no more than half-a-minute, or those cricket-chirp-filled hours of simply standing and staring into nothingness. It’s been years, and the memory fades as time goes by, but I can still feel the sharp emotion that cut through all else when I’d first met you.

An inky-black mop on your head, and eyes that flashed with every smile instilled an odd kind of fear in me, I’ll admit. Those were intelligent eyes, I warned myself, cautioning myself and doing my very best to keep a safe distance from you. But alas, like a moth to a flame, I was drawn into the oddness of emotion I felt around you; and that, simply put, was the moment I’d started gathering the courage to speak to you.

The first time I spoke to you; the words are a blur now, but it most certainly was nothing more than trivial sentences that had no further purpose than to fill the impeding silence. I still remember that for the longest time, I’d tried so very hard to be someone decent enough; someone another member of the human race wouldn’t mind talking to, until, of course, I realised that we were most realistically on the same wavelength.

The last conversation we had, not the final one; Christ no, still made me weep with laughter. There had been stares, and it had been a while since the conversation before that, but, as it were; it was like nothing had happened in those months of serene quietness. There was no dramatic change that made worry fluctuate through me, no awkward catch-ups that we stumbled through, because it hadn’t seemed to matter.

The laughter was new, fresh and completely breath-taking, and every inhalation sent a burning sensation that was well-worth the ache that rumbled through my bones at the slightest movement that was not relieving.

It was simple, but still one of the best feelings I’ve ever experienced.

12 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Something So Strong

Leave a Reply

