To Whom It May Concern

Dearest Jason,

I’m sorry about the last few months. Things haven’t been easy, and they’re not going to become any more so any time soon. This is probably the last time you’ll hear from me, and I’m sorry that I haven’t called, or sent any texts or messages before this.

I know that you’re still angry, but I’m asking you to please read through this letter.

Things haven’t been easy because I haven’t been honest, and I know that you know. But you don’t know why. I’ve been keeping a secret from you, and you’ll hate me because of it. And I’ve come to terms with that.

I know that you’ve barely seen me in these last few months, and that you moved into the apartment above your store because of it. The hospital would have called you because I gave them your name, and given you this, along with my clothes and my bag. They’ll also give you the receipt for six months of chemotherapy and medication, but don’t worry, I haven’t taken anything from you.

I’m sorry that you’ve had to find out like this, but the waiting line was too long, and I couldn’t hold out.

The man you just met, Doctor Gregory, he’s been wanting me to tell you, but I’ve always waved him off, so please don’t take it out on him. I didn’t want you to treat me like a piece of glass, but I think now, that I should have just told you.

It’s almost time for me to go now, and I want you to do one last thing for me. And no, I don’t want you to forgive me just because I asked you to.

I want you to throw this letter away after reading it. Promise me that you won’t keep it, and that you won’t keep reading it. I want you to promise me that you’ll move on, and that you’ll find a lovely wife and have lot’s of children, just like I’ve always told you.

Love always,

Your sister Emily

 

 

9 thoughts on “To Whom It May Concern

    1. Thank you very much, and thanks for letting me know about the poem … it’s brilliant, and brings out a lot of emotion (Well … it does for me).

  1. Wow! I knew part way through the writer was probably gone but I hadn’t guessed it was Jason’s sister rather than lover/partner. So poignant and heartfelt. I love her final request; she truly loves her brother.

    1. Haha, I’m glad it caught you by surprise (Hopefully,) because that’s what I was aiming for … and I didn’t want to do the whole ‘Lover writes letter to their significant other before death’ simply because I have no expertise in that area whatsoever, and I do have slight knowledge in sibling relationships.
      But thank you for the lovely comment, and I hope that you enjoy anything you read on my blog; don’t hesitate to drop a comment to point anything out.

      Cheers,

Leave a Reply

